A Monopoly on the Super Bowl: Which NFC North Team Will Own This Decade?

June 6, 2010   ·     ·   Jump to comments

Bears, Lions, Packers, and Vikings.  The NFC North.  These four teams are some of the oldest in the NFL.  Great rivalries exist, some of the greatest in American professional sports.

One strange statistic of note, one that has held true since the inception of the Super Bowl, still holds true today in the NFC North.  Only one team per decade has made the Super Bowl.  The only other division (in its current alignment) with this is the AFC South, but in all fairness, the Jaguars and Texans are still pretty new in relation to the Colts and Oilers/Titans.  

In the '60s, it was the Packers, winners of two.  No other team from the current NFC North competed in the decade.  The '70s saw the Vikings go to four, leaving all empty-handed.  In 1985, the Chicago Bears won the Big Dance, thanks to one of the best defenses of all time.  The '80s shut out the Vikings, Packers, and Lions from the Super Bowl.  In the '90s, Brett Favre ...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - NFL
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

readers comments