Dolphins’ Jake Long, Three Others Named Captains; Two Signed to Practice Squad

September 8, 2010   ·     ·   Jump to comments

The Miami Dolphins players voted on their four team captains for the 2010 season, and there were no surprises among the players named.

Named Dolphins' captains for the 2010 season were: safety Yeremiah Bell, running back Patrick Cobbs, linebacker Karlos Dansby, and offensive tackle Jake Long.

The quartet represents four new captains from a year ago, with Chad Pennington the only 2009 team captain still with the team. Jason Taylor (Jets), Joey Porter (Cardinals), and Jason Ferguson (retired) were the team's other captains last season.

Drafted in the sixth round in 2003 and relegated to the practice squad during his first pro season, Bell sure has come a long way. Easily the veteran leader of the secondary, Bell is a hard-hitting safety with above-average coverage skills. He was selected to the AFC Pro Bowl squad as an injury replacement last season.

Cobbs has the least amount of "star power" of these four names, but it's easy to understand why h...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - NFL
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

readers comments