Epic Duel. Who Would Win? The ’76 Bucs or ’08 Lions

June 16, 2010   ·     ·   Jump to comments

The 1976 Tampa Bay Buccaneers were an expansion team in the NFL.  They hold the record for most consecutive games lost.  They lost 26 games in a row.  They were the only team to lose every game in a season.  Then the Detroit Lions came along. 
The Detroit Lions are one of the oldest franchises in the NFL.  They are a once proud franchise.  The 2008 Lions sure didn't play like Lions.  They were more like the Detroit Kittens.
First, let's take a look at stats.  The game has definitely evolved, so it is possible that there is a large discrepancy in stats. 
First, the Buccaneers:
The Bucs scored 125 points, or 8.9 per game.
They allowed 412 points, or 29.4 per game.
The offense had 3,006 total yards, while the defense gave up 4,801 yards.
The offense had 3.5 yards per play, while the defense gave up 5.1 yards per play.
They threw 20 interceptions as a team, and picked off 9 passes.
The tea...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - NFL
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

readers comments