Lions Not Robbed: According to the Rulebook, Da Bears Won It Fair and Square

September 13, 2010   ·     ·   Jump to comments

While you might think that the Lions were robbed of their first road win in three seasons, you might want to check the rule book because you'll realize that you're wrong.
Detroit receiver Calvin Johnson caught what seemed to be the go-ahead touchdown against the Bears in Chicago.  There was less than half-a-minute remaining, and Lions fans thought they were going to be able to celebrate a rare win (a road win nonetheless) and a 1-0 start to a promising season.
But when the referee announced the decision of the booth review, Detroit fans were treated to a quick dose of reality and got to experience this rule first hand.
And the rule is this:
Rule 8, Section 1, Article 4
"If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before ...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - NFL
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

readers comments