NFL Defensive Player of the Year: 7 Strong Candidates

November 4, 2012   ·     ·   Jump to comments

Every year, the Associated Press recognizes outstanding individual defensive performance with the NFL Defensive Player of the Year Award.  Past winners include Hall of Famers like Lawrence Taylor (3x), Reggie White (2x) and "Mean" Joe Greene (2x). Each of these players was a game changer, and their selfless, smashmouth play at the toughest positions helped their teams win big. 
As usual, there are a number of strong candidates this season. However, an elite few have set themselves apart.
Certain defensive positions are enjoying their renaissance this year. 3-4 defensive ends and defensive tackles are the strongest they've ever been, with stars like J.J. Watt, Justin Smith, Vince Wilfork and Haloti Ngata shredding opposing blockers. However, no trench dweller of this breed has taken home the D.P.O.Y.A. since Warren Sapp in 1999. 
Is this the year?
Maybe, or maybe not. Out of the past 10 award winners, five have been linebackers and four have been defen...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - NFL
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

readers comments