The AFC South: 2010 NFL’s “Group of Death”

June 15, 2010   ·     ·   Jump to comments

Every four years, Americans' annual summer-long gridiron football withdrawal is relieved (for those of us who are open-minded) by the World Cup—association football's biggest event, something like the lovechild of the Super Bowl and the Olympics. Before its final tournament, the Cup starts with a group stage, which, besides the whole "can't-use-your-hands" thing, bears a striking resemblance to the NFL and its divisional structure. Eight groups, four teams in each. Round-robin play. Top divisional dogs advance. Inevitably, one or two of those groups bundles three or four of the world's best teams together, pitting them against one another for two spots in the knockout stage. These are called, (melo)dramatically, "groups of death." The AFC South, to its credit, has a lot in common with Group G, the 2010 World Cup's consensus group of death, which starts play Tuesday. Aside from the almost inevitable short-changing of a strong third-place team, the four in each make interestin...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - NFL
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

readers comments