The New OT Rule is Just Another Way Buffalo Can Get Screwed

March 24, 2010   ·     ·   Jump to comments

The Minnesota Vikings, Cincinnati Bengals, Baltimore Ravens, and Buffalo Bills voted against the overtime rule. Team owners voted 28-4 Tuesday in favor of the rule change.
Starting next year during the playoffs, if a team wins the coin toss and then kicks a field goal, the other team gets the ball. If the game becomes tied again after that next series, play will continue under the current sudden-death rules.
"Modified sudden death is an opportunity to make a pretty good rule ... even better," said Atlanta Falcons president Rich McKay, co-chairman of the competition committee. "Statistically, it needed to change. It wasn't producing the 'fairest result.'"
Statistics showed since 1994 the team that won the overtime coin toss won the game 34.4 percent the first time on the field. Since kickoffs were moved back 5 yards to the 30, the team that correctly called the overtime coin toss won 59.8 percent of the time.
"Plenty of...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - NFL
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

readers comments