The Super Bowl’s Warm Weather Rule

June 16, 2010   ·     ·   Jump to comments

Basically, Super Bowls have, in the past, been held only in warm weather locations or in a few case, cities with domes.
In fact, 26 out of 44 Super Bowls have been played in one of three locations: New Orleans (nine times), Greater Miami area (ten times) and Greater Los Angeles area (seven times). Two other locations make up for another seven games: San Diego (three times) and Tampa (four times). That is 33 out of the current 44 games.

Traditionally, the NFL does not award Super Bowls to stadiums that are located in climates less than 50°F unless the field is completely covered by a dome, or more lately, a retractable roof.
Only three Super Bowls have been played in northern cities. A Super Bowl was awarded to Kansas City, but only conditionally, and when they were unable to raise all of the funds for the renovations to the would be venue, the Super Bowl was moved to another area. A similar carrot was dangled for the New York Jets, and retracted w...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - NFL
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

readers comments