When the Saints Go Marching In

February 14, 2010   ·     ·   Jump to comments

Tracy Porter returned an interception 74 yards for the clinching touchdown to seal the deal for the New Orleans Saints, who won the first Super Bowl in their 43-year history on Sunday, Feb. 7, 2010, by defeating the Indianapolis Colts 31-17.
Quarterback Drew Brees was named MVP. Brees was 32 of 39 for 288 yards and two touchdowns.
The Saints became the first Super Bowl winner to post three straight victories over teams led by quarterbacks who had won a Super Bowl (Kurt Warner, Brett Favre, Manning).
What a season to remember for the New Orleans Saints and their loyal fans. The Saints got off to the franchise’s best start and just kept building on it.
The season started with a bang as the Saints opened with wins over Detroit, Philadelphia, Buffalo, and the New York Jets.
The Saints’ first significant test was supposed to come against the New York Giants in week six, but it turned out to be a comfortable win by a 48-27 margin in Eli Manning's first-ever game ...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - NFL
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

readers comments