Jason Witten Wins 2012 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award

February 3, 2013   ·     ·   Jump to comments

Dallas Cowboys tight end Jason Witten was named as the winner of the 2012 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award as CBS Sports' Will Brinson tweeted: 
The award is handed out annually to honor a player's charity and volunteer work in combination with excellence on the field. 
Every team has one person who is a nominee for the award and the candidates are then whittled down to three finalists. This year, Witten was joined by Larry Fitzgerald of the Arizona Cardinals and Joe Thomas of the Cleveland Browns as the finalists for the award. 
All three were deserving, but Witten received the honor from a panel of judges consisting of the Commissioner Roger Goodell, Connie Payton (widow of Walter Payton), last year's winner (Matt Birk) and a group former players decided Witten was the rightful winner. 
This was a well-earned honor for the 30-year-old. He has been a consistent force on the field and he is...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - NFL
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

readers comments