Jerry Jones, Paul Tagliabue Finalists for 2017 Pro Football Hall of Fame Class

August 16, 2016   ·     ·   Jump to comments

Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones and former NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue have been nominated as Contributor finalists in the class of 2017 for the Pro Football Hall of Fame, according to the Hall's official Twitter account.
They were picked from a group of 10 men that included Bobby Beathard, Pat Bowlen, Gil Brandt, Bucko Kilroy, Art McNally, Steve Sabol, John Wooten and George Young, according to The MMQB's Peter King (h/t Mike Florio of ProFootballTalk).
Jones' selection is sure to invoke some controversy, especially among Denver Broncos fans. Mike Klis of 9News felt Bowlen—the owner of the Broncos—deserved the nomination over Jones:
Tagliabue's nomination won't be without its dissenters either, however.
Bleacher Report's Mike Freeman was certainly surprised by the decision:
Gregg Rosenthal of NFL.com didn't see it coming, either:
Jones has been the owner of the Cowboys since 1989, and the team has won three Super Bowls under his tute...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - NFL
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

readers comments