NFL Hall of Fame 2011 Class: Shannon Sharpe Joins Pro Football HoF as Broncos’ 4th Inductee

February 6, 2011   ·     ·   Jump to comments

The third time seemed to be the charm, as Shannon Sharpe was inducted to the Pro Football Hall of Fame Saturday after falling short on the previous two times he made it to the finalists list.
Sharpe joined Deion Sanders and Marshall Faulk in headlining a 2011 class of seven. Richard Dent, Ed Sabol, Les Richter and Chris Hanburger rounded out the cast of inductees.
Sharpe now increases the number of Denver Broncos in the Hall of Fame to four. Previous Bronco inductees include Floyd Little, Gary Zimmerman and, of course, John Elway.
Looking back at Sharpe's career, there is absolutely not doubt that he deserves this honor. Frankly, the only question mark that should come out of his induction to the Hall of Fame is why it took so long to induct him.
At the time of his retirement, Sharpe was the all-time leader in receptions (815), touchdowns (62), and receiving yards (10,060) for the tight end position. 
In his 14 seasons, Sharpe made the Pro Bowl eight diffe...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - NFL
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

readers comments