NFL Pro Bowl 2014: Analyzing San Francisco 49ers’ League-Leading 8 Selections

December 28, 2013   ·     ·   Jump to comments

The 2014 Pro Bowl voters awarded the San Francisco 49ers with an NFL-leading eight selections to football’s annual all-star showcase.
Team captains Justin Smith and Patrick Willis lead a group that also features NaVorro Bowman, Ahmad Brooks, Vernon Davis, Frank Gore, Mike Iupati and Joe Staley.
Every one of these 49ers selected to the starting roster is a multiple-time winner.
All told, San Francisco boasts 28 career selections among the eight starters invited this year.
But the usual questions over yearly Pro Bowl invitees remain (even with the new “unconferenced” format).
Were all eight 49ers deserving of this honor? Were there any worthy players left behind?
Including alternates Anquan Boldin, Alex Boone, Andy Lee, Eric Reid, C.J. Spillman and Donte Whitner, is this a thorough and representative list of Pro Bowl-quality 49ers?
Let’s break it down.
Note: NFL.com provides all player and league statistics. Any ...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - NFL
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

readers comments