The 10 Greatest Seasons By a Defensive Player In NFL History

March 21, 2010   ·     ·   Jump to comments

It doesn't receive the same glory, but a great defensive season is just as valuable as a great offensive season. 
After all, defenses win championships.
Below I composed a list of the ten greatest individual seasons by a defensive player in NFL history (with one honorable mention).
It is a list so profound that it doesn't even include such seasons as Ray Lewis in 2000, when he earned Defensive Player of the Year honors and anchored a Super Bowl championship, during which the defense allowed just 165 points.
Chris Doleman's 21-sack season for the Minnesota Vikings in 1989? Not good enough.
But it does include four Defensive Player of the Year seasons and an NFL Most Valuable Player award. Seven of the players have been selected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame and two others are future Hall of Famers. 
Honorable Mention: Deion Sanders, 1994
After five electrifying seasons with the Atlanta Falcons, Deion Sanders joined the San Fran...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - NFL
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

readers comments