The New AP Defensive Rookie Of The Year Results Are In

May 12, 2010   ·     ·   Jump to comments

At the end of last year, five players were selected as candidates to receive the AP Defensive Rookie of the Year award. These players are listed in order of how they placed below, with the number of votes they received in parentheses:
Houston Texans OLB Brian Cushing (39)
Buffalo Bills S Jarius Byrd (6)
Green Bay Packers OLB Clay Matthews (3)
Washington Redskins OLB Brian Orakpo (2)
Detroit Lions S Louis Delmas (0)
Brian Cushing completely ran away with the award, receiving 39 of the 50 available votes. That was before he tested positive for the NFL-banned substance, HCG. While HCG is a non-steroidal substance, it is still closely linked to the use of steroids.
Cushing tested positive for the substance back in September, though the AP had little to no knowledge of this at the time of the first voting.
After Cushing tested positive for the banned substance, the NFL swiftly handed down punishment, suspending him for 4 games at the beginning of th...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - NFL
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

readers comments