Washington Redskins’ Path to Victory Over the Colts Starts on the Ground

October 17, 2010   ·     ·   Jump to comments

Marcus Allen, Bo Jackson, Terrell Davis, Olandis Gary, Mike Anderson, Clinton Portis, Rueben Droughns, Tatum Bell, Selvin Young and Peyton Hillis.

These are the men who led Mike Shanahan's teams in rushing in his previous 16 years as a head coach. Years that saw him win 149 games, five division titles and two Super Bowls. Just once has he had a team finish lower than third place in a division.

Besides Allen, a Hall of Famer, Jackson, Young and Hillis, each player ran for over 1,000 yards at least once. Many who came from virtually nowhere with little expected from them.

Only Allen, Jackson, Portis and Bell were drafted in the first two rounds. Droughns was a third-rounder run out of Detroit before being picked up by Shanahan, and sat deep on the bench for two years before becoming a star. Gary was selected in the fourth round. Davis and Anderson were sixth-round draft picks, while Hillis was picked up in the seventh. Young was not drafted at all.

Now it may ...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - NFL
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

readers comments