Winning, Losing or Never Playing in the Super Bowl Does Not Define Greatness

February 4, 2011   ·     ·   Jump to comments

Dan Marino is not one of the greatest NFL quarterbacks of all-time.
Neither is Fran Tarkenton.
Jim Kelly certainly falls short. 
Don’t even think of uttering the name of Dan Fouts.
Warren Moon? You can’t be serious. 
Jim Krieg is just another obscure player whose name is barely even recognized outside the Pacific Northwest.
These outstanding slingers have their names brought up every Super Bowl, and always for the exact same reason.
According to some, they can and never should be considered a truly great NFL quarterback because no matter what they did in their careers, no matter how many touchdowns or highlight reels they may live on, they never notched the one accomplishment that insures legendary status.
They never won the Super Bowl.
So for those who swear by this theory, these exemplary slingers all stand on a somewhat lower pedestal than Joe Montana, Terry Bradshaw, Troy...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - NFL
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

readers comments